Feminism Is The New Black

feminism is the new black

I am a feminist.

There I said it. It feels wonderful to finally come out. So many years I had to pretend like it didn’t bother me that women are considered weak. So often I tried not to let it bother me when I found out that my male co-worker with the same education and experience earned 22% more than me. I was blind to the fact that women are told to suppress sexuality in order to avoid being called a thot? As a Miss America viewer, it never dawned on me that the idea of women walking around in a bikini for a scholarship is borderline prostitution? Ok that last one was a little overdramatic.Well, not really. But you get the idea.


 

fem·i·nism
ˈfeməˌnizəm

The person who believes in the social, political, and economic equality of the sexes.


 

 

In a recent survey, women were asked if they considered themselves feminists to which 24% stated that they did. However, after giving each women the definition of feminism, there was a surprising change of answers. Now 64% of these participants believed that they were in fact feminists.

Let’s take all that you’ve ever known about feminism and what the media has told you and lets throw that out the window, down the hill, now go grab a shovel, and bury that crap so deep into the earth it burns from being too close to the core. Everything you’ve ever known is wrong. Feminists are not evil unattractive man-haters. Feminists are just those who stand for equality for everyone. Feminism is the new black. 

Once upon a time I too thought feminists were crazy and that there should just be an order in this world. Of course men made better leaders! Why would a sensitive pansy woman want to be president? All she would do is cry and everybody would attack us. She could never lead us in the way a country would need to be leaded! Countries would not take us seriously! We would be foolish to have women leaders! Well I am proud to say that I believe that I was VERY WRONG and I can’t believe I ever had those thoughts!

Women are rising in power. Women are now taking tremendous leadership roles. And what happens? We consider them b*tches for becoming powerful role models. Why? Because they know what they want, they go get it, and they don’t want anybody to stand in their way. How is this any different from a man pursuing the some leadership roles? I’ll answer that question for you: it is no different!

Maybe it is because we are finally putting 2014 B.C. behind us and finally stepping into 2014 A.D. where people are moving towards equality. We aren’t there yet. In fact we are far from it and the equality of the sexes is just one of many prevailing issues. But with greater knowledge about the true definition of feminism, you may find that many men and women consider themselves feminists.

Here are some great quotes from popular feminists:

“Feminism is the radical notion that women are human beings.”
― Cheris Kramarae

“What’s the worst possible thing you can call a woman? Don’t hold back, now.
You’re probably thinking of words like slut, whore, b*tch, c*nt (I told you not to hold back!), skank.
Okay, now, what are the worst things you can call a guy? Fag, girl, b*tch, p*ssy. I’ve even heard the term “mangina.”
Notice anything? The worst thing you can call a girl is a girl. The worst thing you can call a guy is a girl. Being a woman is the ultimate insult. Now tell me that’s not royally fucked up.”
― Jessica ValentiFull Frontal Feminism: A Young Woman’s Guide to Why Feminism Matters

“Equality is not a concept. It’s not something we should be striving for. It’s a necessity. Equality is like gravity. We need it to stand on this earth as men and women, and the misogyny that is in every culture is not a true part of the human condition. It is life out of balance, and that imbalance is sucking something out of the soul of every man and woman who’s confronted with it. We need equality. Kinda now.”
― Joss Whedon

My latest post was regarding the Being Human Project where I discuss kindness towards others. I do not believe that is any different then my taking a stance on feminism. I believe in equality in all aspects of human life. It is not a silly dream to believe that equality can be a reality. But it does take cooperation and individual education. Start the research yourself. Go ahead. Google feminism. I know you want to! Together, we can all see to it that the later generations will be coming into a better world. It is up to us to demand a change and make sure that all humans are treated fairly, kindly, and equally.

#FeminismIsTheNewBlack

Leave a comment